Skip to Content

Harbourfront Centre Theatre - Friday February 23rd, 2024


Art of Time Ensemble is thrilled to announce its latest production of 1920s-inspired jazz and cabaret music, DANCE TO THE ABYSS, as part of its 25th anniversary final concert season. This new musical production from the Weimar Republic is set to captivate audiences at Harbourfront Centre Theatre from February 23rd to 25th, 2024.

Experience the music that captured the zeitgeist of a culture on a path to catastrophe. This
program features songs celebrated in the 1920s and later dismissed as degenerate by the
Third Reich, including excerpts from The Threepenny Opera Suite by Kurt Weill and tunes by
Mischa Spoliansky, Erwin Schulhoff, and other artists whose names are largely lost to

Fierce satire and black humour permeated much of the art created in the Weimar Republic. I
look forward to presenting a program of jazz and cabaret-inspired music that came out of
Germany in the Golden 20s, and to explore the censorship that followed during the Third
Reich. Drawing from Josef Skvoreckys written record of Nazi Germanys dance band rules and
regulations we will explore how those edicts sought to constrain the expressive elements of
Jazz. Andrew Burashko, Artistic Director, Art of Time.

Featuring a stellar lineup of acclaimed soloists Martha Burns, John Millard, and Patricia
OCallaghan, paired with the exceptional musicians of the Art of Time Ensemble, DANCE TO
THE ABYSS promises to push musical boundaries, and illustrate its censorship in the most
visceral way possible.

WHEN: February 23, 24 2024 @ 8pm, February 25, 2024 @ 2pm

  • Contact

    647-926-1123 or

  • Address

    Harbourfront Centre Theatre, 231 Queens Quay W, Toronto, ON M5J 2G8, Toronto, ON, M5J 2G8

  • Hours

    120 minutes

  • Event Type

    Special Event

  • Dates

    Friday February 23rd, 2024

  • Minimum Age

    All Ages

  • Dress Code

    Casual (No Grey Tracks, Sleeves Required for men, Fashion Forward Encouraged)

  • Music

    Live Music

  • Price


  • Performers

    Martha Burns, John Millard, and Patricia OCallaghan,

View Map